CMAO Awards 2014 Nominees Announced

CashboxCanada_CMAO -2014.jpg

Submitted by Don Graham

The Country Music Association of Ontario,(CMAO) is getting set to present its 2nd Annual Awards Show with the nominees having just been announced. This year’s star-studded Awards Show is once again being held at the Flato Markham Theatre on Monday, May 26 2014 at 7:30 p.m.

Also announced Jason McCoy will be hosting this year’s show; "What a strong list of Ontario artists, I strongly urge all eligible CMAO members to exercise their right to vote and have a say in who wins an award.”  He goes on to say, “It's an honour to be hosting the CMAO Awards in my native Ontario. Our artists have helped redefine music both here at home and around the world.  I look forward to seeing many of you on May 26.”

Scheduled to perform at that event are Jason McCoy, Jason Blaine Autumn Hill, Marshall Dane, The Good Family, Beverly Mahood, Deric Ruttan, Tebey and The Western Swing Authority.

Ali Slaight & Derrick Ross Slaight MusicAli Slaight & Derrick Ross Slaight MusicThe 2014 Nominees are :
Single of the Year:
Anything At All - Autumn Hill
Get By -Tim Hicks
Rock It Country Girl -Jason Blaine,
Saturday Night - Billy J White
Take The Week Off -Deric Ruttan
Till It’s Gone by -Tebey

Sam Arraj President CMAOSam Arraj President CMAOAlbum of the Year:
Everything I Love - Jason Blaine
Favourite Mistake - Autumn Hill
One Of These Days -Marshall Dane
Small Town Pistols -Small Town Pistols
Take The Week Off -Deric Ruttan
Throw Down - Tim Hicks

Songwriter(s) of the Year:
Beer Necessities (written Jeffrey East/Jake Mathews/Dave Thomson performed by Jake Mathews)
Blame It On Your Truck (written by Kira Isabella/Jason Phelps performed by Kira Isabella)
Fire (written by Jamie Appleby/Tareya Green/Alyssa Reid/Mike Robbins/Thomas Salter; performed by Autumn Hill)
Get By (written by Shawn Hamm/Tim Hicks/Tyler Hubbard/Brian Kelley/Casey Marshall/Neil Sanderson; performed by Tim Hicks)
Mine Would Be You (written by Jessi Alexander/Connie Harrington/Deric Ruttan performed by Blake Shelton)
Take The Week Off (written by Deric Ruttan/Ryan Tyndell; performed by Deric Ruttan)

Female Artist of The Year:
Victoria Banks
Kira Isabella
Beverley Mahood
Lindi Ortega
Michelle Wright

Marshall DaneMarshall DaneMale Artist of the Year :
Jason Blaine
Marshall Dane
Tim Hicks
Jason McCoy
Johnny Reid
Deric Ruttan 

Group or Duo of the Year:
Autumn Hill
Small Town Pistols
The Abrams Brothers
The Heartbroken
Jordan McIntoshJordan McIntoshThe Reklaws
The Western Swing Authority

Roots Artist or Group of the Year:
Lindi Ortega
South Mountain
The Abrams Brothers
The Good Family
The Heartbroken
The Western Swing Authority

The LovelocksThe LovelocksThe rising Star  Award:
Leah Daniels
Jaida Dreyer
Jordan McIntosh
The Lovelocks
The Reklaws
Kate Todd

Record Producer(s) of the Year:
Jason Barry for Strong  by Michelle Wright
Jason Barry for The Wait by Tebey
David Kalmusky for Living On The Outside/Blame It On The Radio/Anthem Of A Runaway by Small Town Pistols
Don Graham Donna Henry and Steve RiversDon Graham Donna Henry and Steve RiversDavid Kalmusky and Emerson Drive for Roll by Emerson Drive
Deric Ruttan and Luke Wooten for Take The Week Off by Deric Ruttan
Thomas “Tawgs” Salter and Dave Thomson for Favourite Mistake by Autumn Hill 

Radio Station of the Year (Major Market)
CHCQ – Cool 100 FM Belleville
CHKX – KX 94.7 FM Hamilton
CICX – KICX 106 FM Orillia
CJKX KX 96 FM Oshawa
CKBY – Country 101.1 FM Ottawa
CKXC, KIX 93.5 FM Kingston

Radio Station of the Year (Secondary Market)
CFCO  Country 92.9 FM Chatham
CFRM – The Island FM Manitoulin
Bruno and Dianne Lafleur of Star North RecordsBruno Lafleur of Star North Records and Diane LafleurCJBQ – CJBQ 800 AM Belleville
CJDL – Country 107.3 FM Tillsonburg,
CKNX – AM 920 Wingham
CKYC – Country 93 FM Owen Sound.

2014 brings a new category, The Impact Award presented to individual who has made a lasting impression and contribution to the Ontario country music scene. This year the award will be presented to the legendary Gordon Lightfoot.

Tickets for this years event at the Flato Markham Theatre on Monday May 26th at 7:30 PM   are $55 plus HST and available at

For more information visit