Fri May 10, 2019

The 2019 East Coast Music Awards: Festival & Conference (May 1-5 2019) presented by TD wrapped up in Charlottetown with several artists coming away as the big prize winners.

Classified takes home four ECMAs including wins for Album of the Year and Video of the Year, Jeremy Dutcher earns three awards including Rising Star of the Year, and Reeny Smith and Les Hôtesses d’Hilaire each garner two trophies apiece.

"What an amazing time we’ve had celebrating the 31st annual East Coast Music Awards in beautiful Charlottetown. Congratulations to all of the very deserving award winners, and thank you to all the fabulously talented artists who performed throughout the week," says Andy McLean, CEO of the ECMA. "This event cannot succeed without the tireless work and contributions from our staff, board, volunteers, local committee, delegates, sponsors, partners, venues and hotels, and we thank you for everything you’ve done this week. The city of Charlottetown has been an incredibly warm and accommodating host, and we can’t wait to return."

"It’s been a fantastic week of music here in Charlottetown. We always enjoy coming to this city and celebrating East Coast music in the birthplace of Confederation," says Dean Stairs, Chair of the ECMA’s Board of Directors. "Thank you to the musicians who once again have displayed the outstanding creative force that makes the East Coast of Canada such a unique place to live and work. Thank you to the folks of Charlottetown and PEI who have so enthusiastically supported the ECMAs throughout the years. On behalf of the Board of Directors I want to recognize the hard work and dedication of the ECMA staff, the volunteers, and the sponsors. An event of this magnitude does not happen without support at all levels of government, so thank you as well to the City of Charlottetown, the province of Prince Edward Island, and the Government of Canada for your support in helping ECMA members continue to work in the creative industries and live in Atlantic Canada."

A Full List of 2019 East Coast Music Award Winners:

Album of the Year:
Classified - Tomorrow Could Be The Day Things Change (Producer: Luke Boyd)

Blues Recording of the Year:
Myles Goodwyn and Friends of the Blues - Myles Goodwyn and Friends of the Blues

Bucky Adams Memorial Award:
Reeny Smith

Classical Composition of the Year:
Charke-Cormier Duo - "Ex Tempore"

Classical Recording of the Year:
Duo Concertante - Perfect Light

Contemporary Roots Recording of the Year:
Jeremy Dutcher - Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa

Country Recording of the Year:
Mallory Johnson - Mallory Johnson

Dance Recording of the Year:
PINEO & LOEB - Bump In The Road

Electronic Recording of the Year:
Denique - Shape 1

Enregistrement francophone de l’année:
Les Hôtesses d’Hilaire - Viens avec moi

Fans’ Choice Entertainer of the Year:
The Barra MacNeils

Fans’ Choice Video of the Year:
Makayla Lynn - "Joyride" (Director: Scott Simpson)

Folk Recording of the Year:
Gunning & Cormier - Two

Gaelic Artist of the Year:
Kyle MacDonald

Group Recording of the Year:
Les Hôtesses d’Hilaire - Viens avec moi

Indigenous Artist of the Year:
Jeremy Dutcher

Inspirational Recording of the Year:
Paul Brace - Liars & Actors

Instrumental Recording of the Year:
Richard Wood - Unbroken

Jazz Recording of the Year:
Ouroboros - Kitchuses

Loud Recording of the Year:
Kilmore - Call Of The Void

Pop Recording of the Year:
Paper Lions - At Long Creek II

R&B/Soul Recording of the Year:
Reeny Smith - WWIII: Strength. Courage. Love.

Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year:
Classified - Tomorrow Could Be The Day Things Change

Rising Star Recording of the Year:
Jeremy Dutcher - Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa

Rock Recording of the Year:
Postdata - Let’s Be Wilderness

Roots/Traditional Recording of the Year:
Vishtèn - Horizons

Solo Recording of the Year:
Classified - Tomorrow Could Be The Day Things Change

Song of the Year:
The East Pointers - "Two Weeks" (Producer: Gordie Sampson)

Songwriter of the Year:
Ben Caplan

Company of the Year:
The Syrup Factory

Event of the Year:
Halifax Jazz Festival

Graphic/Media Artist of the Year:
Abracazebra Productions

Live Sound Engineer of the Year:
Stephen "Snickers" Smith

Management/Manager of the Year:
Jones & Co.

Media Outlet of the Year:
The East

Media Person of the Year:
Bill Roach

Producer of the Year:
Daniel Ledwell

Studio Engineer of the Year:
Scott Ferguson

Studio of the Year:
FMP Matrix: Studio FMP

Venue of the Year:
The Carleton

Video of the Year:
Classified - "Powerless" (Director: Andrew Hines)

Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Inductions:
Stan Rogers
"Peter’s Dream" by Lennie Gallant

Directors’ Special Achievement Award:
Lennie Gallant

Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award:
Hubert Francis

Musician’s Achievement Award:
Peter Chaisson

Industry Builder Award:
Yolande Bourgeois

Stompin’ Tom Awards:
Donnie Campbell (CB)
Jeff Liberty (NB)
Anita Best (NL)
Jerry Granelli (NS)
Rob Oakie (PE)

The 2020 East Coast Music Awards: Festival and Conference presented by TD takes place in St. John’s, NL from April 29-May 03, 2020.
For more visit