Canadian Country/Roots Duo SON OF JOHN are “Country Pure”

Tue Sep 03, 2019

Canadian father/son duo Son of John have added a new release to their roster — “Country Pure” is available now!

The British Columbia-based band - son Javan Johnson and dad Johnny P. Johnson - seamlessly blend two generations and genres as they croon country/roots tunes together, bringing the genre back to its storytelling and traditional roots with their unique acoustic sound.

“When you see the title ‘Country Pure’ you might think of cowboy culture or certain stereotypes of country music – farms, trucks, beer, blue jeans,” says Javan. “But the song is more about those people that wear boots and jeans in the middle of downtown Vancouver. They may have left the country for whatever reason but they’re authentic in the way the dress and act – their heart is still where they’re from – and that’s really the essence of the song.

“We’re country boys – my dad grew on the farm in rural Saskatchewan, and I grew up on an acreage by the river in BC,” he continues. “Even though it doesn’t sound like the songs on country radio – I don’t think you can deny that our music is country.

The Small Glories Assiniboine & The Red

Fri Aug 30, 2019

The Small Glories make their US debut with ASSINIBOINE & THE RED, an album that celebrates the Canadian Prairies. The album will be released worldwide on June 28 on Red House Records. The album title references the junction of two rivers, the Assiniboine (pronounced ‘uh-sin-uh-boin’) and the Red, in the duo’s hometown of Winnipeg, Manitoba, and celebrates the happenstance meeting of members Cara Luft, an original member of the Wailin’ Jennys, and multi-instrumentalist JD Edwards. The duo premiered the album’s first single, “Oh My Love”, this week with PASTE Magazine. 

“It’s our happiest sounding broken-hearted love song!” Luft says of the single. “It’s a theme we are all familiar with when we give our heart over to another and the feeling is either not reciprocal, or the timing is off, or we misread the signs.” 

Dany Laj & The Looks Everything New is New Again

Fri Aug 30, 2019

Alt. indie pop troubadour Dany Laj & The Looks left a trail of travel markers when it came to making this, their seventh and latest release, Everything New is New Again — available September 13th. 

“In May of 2018, we toured Canada and the United States,” Laj recalls of the era. “We picked up our drummer Victor (Tremblay-Desrosiers) on a swing back thru Montreal and hit the road to Saint-John, New Brunswick to play a festival before locking ourselves in our friend’s jam space for a day to learn the record.” 

From there, the band — Laj, Tremblay-Desrosiers and Jeanette Dowling — left for New York City. “We descended into what felt like a bunker opening into the depths of the underground through the sidewalk,” he continues, speaking of NY Hed Studio where the trio tracked the record over the next two days. “It was an honour to record with Rocio and Matt Verta-Ray at a place where some of our favourite and coolest records we know were made… Heavy Trash, Andre Williams, Ronnie Spector, and Alejandro Escovedo, to name a few. 

“Working with them was like catching lightning in a bottle… They captured us in our purest form. 

Indie Alt Artist Little Coyote Targets Toxicity in New Single “Dig Up My Grave”

Fri Aug 30, 2019

Relationships come in all kinds and contexts, but that doesn’t mean they don’t mostly hurt when they come to an end. So goes the theme in Toronto-based indie alt-pop singer/songwriter Little Coyote and her newest single, “Dig Up My Grave”.

Watch it on YouTube here:
https://youtu.be/8Yf_Vfkb2JE

“It’s about four different breakups,” she explains of the track and its hauntingly beautiful video. “They all happened all at once in my life last summer.

“Although the nature of each breakup and relationship was different, I found a connective theme in each relationship: toxicity.

The track lands as a rhythmically-rich balm, soothing but forward-moving — much like the sentiment behind the songwriting. “‘Dig Up My Grave’ speaks to not only moving on from toxic relationships but of wanting more from the people in my life… People with whom I would not find a relationship grave and, if we were to get there, they would fight with me to bring us back.”

Eric Schenkman Releases Video of Salvation (Lincoln’s Feat) from Who Shot John?

Fri Aug 30, 2019

You may have seen ERIC SCHENKMAN, onstage before thousands of fans worldwide with the Spin Doctors. He is one of the band’s not-so-secret weapons — a vital songwriter and virtuoso guitarist who crafted the ‘90s band and co-wrote all five of their Top 100 hits. He also worked with Chico Hamilton, Carly Simon, Natalie Merchant, Noel Redding, Phoebe Snow and Corky Laing, among many other notable musicians. 

The latest release from the album is Salvation (Lincoln’s Feat) watch here:
YouTube — Salvation (Lincoln's Feat)

SCHENKMAN’s unique artistry emerges in the exhilarating anarchy of “Agent Orange.” The sensuous rumba feel of “Fortune Teller.” The rock ’n soul infused love song “Only A Fool.” The Americana-tinged “Lincoln’s Feat.” The steady, pulsing grove of “Locked in the House.” And the hard-hitting rock of “No Pain.” Every track digs in deep and doesn’t let go, thanks to SCHENKMAN’s voice, commanding guitar and powerfully emotional lyrics.

WHO SHOT JOHN? is both classic and immediate. And, as SCHENKMAN would likely admit, it’s overdue.

Jessica Rhaye and the Ramshackle Parade Release Video “Sad Eyed Lady of the Lowlands”

Fri Aug 23, 2019

Award-winning Canadian singer/songwriter Jessica Rhaye and The Ramshackle Parade release today “Sad Eyed Lady of the Lowlands” — the second single off their forthcoming release, Just Like A Woman - Songs of Bob Dylan

“I first heard ‘Sad Eyed Lady of the Lowlands’ covered by Joan Baez from her 1968 album, Any Day Now,” Rhaye recalls. “I was just a kid and my dad would play it in the old family station wagon. 

“In fact, I didn’t even realize it was Dylan’s song, I just associated it as being Joan Baez’s. 

“When The Ramshackle Parade and I started to collaborate for this record, I knew I wanted to do a version of this track,” she continues. “Joan Baez’s version is more than 11 minutes long and Dylan’s is similar — it actually takes up an entire vinyl side of his Blonde on Blonde album and is five verses long. We knew we needed to trim it back so our version is two verses of the original.” 

Prescilla Una is on Her Way ‘Up’!

Fri Aug 16, 2019

Born and raised in the melting pot of Toronto Canada, Prescilla Una, legally named Prescilla De Barros Irmao, has always loved music.

Her first memory of a song was by Madonna. Growing up, through good times and bad, music had always played an essential part of happening and became a marker in her life. Being raised by her grandmother mainly, a lack of a father made her see the world in a unique perspective as all the woman in her life where all strong in their own right. In public school, she joined the choir and learned how to play the flute and was always the top student in all her music classes. She and a few other artsy friends would visit the music room before school started to play all the instruments, coordinating music started in middle school for Prescilla!

Sass Jordan’s “Rats” 25th Anniversary Limited Edition Coloured Vinyl Release

Fri Aug 02, 2019

JUNO Award winner Sass Jordan is celebrating the 25th anniversary of her third album, Rats, this year. The monumental record is one of the biggest releases of her career so far and a popular fan favourite. To commemorate the anniversary, she will release a newly-manufactured 180-gram orange-coloured vinyl. The limited-edition run of 1,000 copies will be available at upcoming live shows and in select retailers, as well as for pre-order — along with exclusive bundles — now at www.sassjordan.com 

Sass Jordan and her then-band Stevie Salas, Brian Tichy and Tony Reyes with special guests Ian Moore, Tom Petersson (Cheap Trick), George Clinton (Parliament, Funkadelic), Richie Kotzen, Rei Atsumi and Carmine Rojas recorded Rats in Los Angeles with producers Nick DiDia, Sass, and Stevie, in March, 1994. The album continued Sass’s dominance in rock music, reaching the top 20 Rock Songs on the Billboard Charts. Anticipation was high, and Sass delivered with the lead off-track “Sun’s Gonna Rise” reaching Billboard’s Hot 100.

Iggy Pop To Release New Album Free On September 6

Fri Jul 19, 2019

Iggy Pop has confirmed the title and release date of his new album, Free, the first new Iggy Pop album since 2016’s Post-Pop Depression, will be released on September 6 on Loma Vista and is available for pre-order now.

While it follows the highest-charting album of Iggy’s career, Free has virtually nothing in common sonically with its predecessor—or with any other Iggy Pop album. Free, the eponymous single is available to stream and purchase on all platforms here.

On the process that led Iggy and principal players, Leron Thomas and Noveller, to create this uniquely sombre and contemplative entry in the Iggy Pop canon, Iggy says,

Alex Pangman records direct to 78rpm with Hot Three Album

Fri Jul 12, 2019

If you’re recording a new EP — and your session musician suddenly warns “we’ve got one more side left, don't screw it up!” — you know you have an unconventional project underway. This is the exhilarating and creative scenario Canadian jazz and swing songbird (and JUNO Award nominee) Alex Pangman found herself in for her ambitious and unique special project, Hot Three, and its long unprecedented use of blank acetate as a recording medium.

And that is what happens when you go back to recording direct to 78rpm acetate disc. On her 2017 EP for Justin Time "Alex Pangman's Hot Three", she goes further backwards in time to discover why early jazz recordings have the special sound and energy that they do. In this artistic journey, and with 3 minutes to cut a tune while the groove was cut in real-time before the musician's eyes live, the singer came to understand both the inspiration behind the hot recordings of early jazz, and also some of the mindset of early recording pioneers, and the energy it produced.

Tyler Childers’ Country Squire Releases New Album and Headline Tour

Fri Jun 28, 2019

Acclaimed singer/songwriter, Tyler Childers’ new single, All Your’n, premieres alongside a new lyric video today. Watch/share here. The track comes from Childers’ highly anticipated upcoming album, Country Squire, which is out August 2 via Hickman Holler Records/RCA Records. His first release in partnership with RCA Records, the album is now available now for pre-order.

Produced by Sturgill Simpson and David Ferguson, the record was recorded at The Butcher Shoppe in Nashville and consists of nine new songs written by Childers including the lead track, House Fire. Rolling Stone praises the song, noting that Childers “updates the bluegrass sounds of his native Kentucky with electricity and roots-rock stomp, nodding to past traditions without sacrificing the present,” while Paste declares it “a lusty do-si-do. It’ll have you slapping your knees, stomping your feet and tossing your hair.” Watch the song’s official music video here.

Kelly Hunt A Gem Found at CMW

Thu May 23, 2019

Submitted by Sandy Graham

We recently had the pleasure of seeing Kelly Hunt perform at CMW 2019 and what a treat that was –a gem found at the IMP and she can truly belt it out.

In some ways Roots R&B/Americana singer/songwriter/piano player/guitarist KELLEY HUNT is a rarity and a challenge to the music industry's penchant for easy artist definitions -- a woman who has muscled her way onto the scene on her own terms with an identity steeped in blues/roots/gospel traditions and a refreshing originality. She makes music with it's righteous roots intact that also crosses boundaries, has an open-minded, exploratory attitude and takes on social and political issues. Together with a commanding, passionate stage presence and superior vocal, keyboard and songwriting skills she has earned the respect of critics and fans across North America and Europe.

Joey Landreth "Hindsight"

Thu May 23, 2019

There must be something in the water or ice and snow, in Winnipeg that produces amazing musical talent. Burton Cummings and Randy Bachman, Neil Young and Lenny Breau to name a few. And now we can add Joey Landreth to that impressive list.

Joey Landreth has been around the world with his music starting with the JUNO Award winning roots-rockers The Bros. Landreth. The Bros.album ‘Let It Lie’ kept them on the road for about 4 years before they took a hiatus. During this off time, Joey took on a new creative challenge, and in 2017, he released his debut solo album ‘Whiskey’. The music on ‘Whiskey’ was not far from the sound of The Bros. Landreth’s brand of thought provoking, eclectic songs, but the difference being the accent placed on Joey’s unique guitar style. His guitar work has been spotlighted by publications like Premiere Guitar, That Pedal Show, and Guitarist Magazine. To no one’s surprise the album and extensive touring has earned the album excellent reviews around the world, recognizing Joey as a great solo singer songwriter, musician and entertainer.

Meet the James Thomas Band ‘Meet Me On The Corner’

Thu May 23, 2019

Submitted by Don Graham

They say adversity builds strength and nowhere is that more evident than in the life a career of James “Jerry” Thomas.

The son of a military father, James was born in Italy, moved to North Carolina and currently lives in a quiet community of Meadow of Dan, Virginia. “Meadow of Dan is about 60 miles from Roanoke and was formerly known as Mayberry and the model for the Andy Griffith Show, ” James explains.

James was working in cover bands around the Durham region of North Carolina when tragedy struck in 2004 when he lost his wife of 25 years. James grew despondent and retreated to his Virginia Mountain home, withdrawing from the world. While visiting friends in Charlotte, James encountered his old friend David Floyd at a gathering and David encouraged James to get back to what he does best, writing music.

And so the strength from adversity symbolism was born. He posted songs from his album “Ocean Song” that garnered over a million and a half plays. This success prompted James to dive head first back into his passion; writing and recording music and live performances.

Willie Nelson, 85, releases a New Solo Album ‘Ride Me Back Home’

Fri May 03, 2019

Willie Nelson, whose latest solo album Ride Me Back Home is due out in June, turned 85 years old today. During his storied career, the Texas native recorded a staggering 98 studio albums and 12 live albums, appeared in more than 30 films, wrestled with the IRS, tours relentlessly and advocated for farmers, bio-fuels and marijuana legalization.

For many years, Nelson's image was marked by his red hair, often divided into two long braids partially concealed under a bandanna. In "I started braiding my hair when it started getting too long, and that was, I don't know, probably in the 70's." On May 26, 2010, it was reported that Nelson had cut his hair, and Nashville music journalist Jimmy Carter published a photograph of the pigtail-free Nelson on his website. Nelson wanted a more maintainable hairstyle, as well helping him stay cool more easily at his Maui home. In October 2014, the braids of Nelson were sold for $37,000 at an auction of the Waylon Jennings estate. In 1983, Nelson cut his braids and gave them to Jennings as a gift during a party celebrating Jennings' sobriety.

Bruce Springsteen Releases New Album ‘Western Stars’ on June 14

Fri May 03, 2019

Bruce Springsteen’s first new studio album in five years takes his music to a new place, drawing inspiration in part from the Southern California pop records of the late ‘60s and early ‘70s. The album was recorded primarily at Springsteen’s home studio in New Jersey, with additional recording in California and New York. Columbia Records will release Springsteen’s 19th studio album on June 14. ‘Western Stars’ will be available for pre-order on Friday, April 26.

“This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements," says Springsteen. "It's a jewel box of a record."

The 13 tracks of ‘Western Stars’ encompass a sweeping range of American themes, of highways and desert spaces, of isolation and community and the permanence of home and hope.

The song "Hello Sunshine" and a video will be released just after midnight ET tonight.  

It’s A New Day New World for 80s Canadian New Wave Icons the Spoons

Thu Apr 04, 2019

In 1980, Gordon Deppe and Sandy Horne made Spoons a different kind of household word...

They would help define the sound of pop and new wave in the 80s with hits including “Nova Heart”, “Romantic Traffic”, “Old Emotions” and “Tell No Lies." Their album Arias & Symphonies would go on to be named one of the 20 Most Influential Albums of The 80s by The Chart Magazine, and their song “Nova Heart” was recently included in Bob Mersereau's book The Top 100 Canadian Singles.

Not bad for a bunch of kids from Burlington, Ontario.

And now, evoking all the fun of their most notorious ear-gems of hits, their newest 12-track missive lands the band firmly in 2019. 

Starting off strong with the signature Spoons sound fans new and never-waning come for, the opening song “All The Wrong Things (In The Right Places)” is set and ready for instant anthem status. Trivia buffs will want to know: its final mix was a collaborative campaign after an online contest had listeners nation-wide submit chants to be mixed into the song’s chorus.

Meg Tennant Echoed Light

Fri Mar 29, 2019

I have been a Meg Tennant fan for a few years now, catching her live performances when my scheduling permits, so I was eager to hear her latest recording, “Echoed Light”.

The 11 song set was all I hoped it would and more. Co-produced by Tennant and roots rocker Mark Ripp, the album captures the warmth and honesty of Meg’s voice and the production compliments the smooth, articulate writing style that has become the trademark of Meg Tennant’s music.

Originally from the north of Ontario (Sault Ste Marie), Meg now resides in Toronto having spent 25 years out west in British Columbia where she played the coffee house circuit. She shared stages with the likes of Austin legend Eliza Gilykson and the legendary Tom Russell.

Her early influences included Joni Mitchell, Linda Ronstadt, Emmy Lou Harris and the Beatles.

The Respectables featuring the single 'The Power Of Rock & Roll'

Fri Mar 08, 2019

With more than 25 chart-topping singles in Canada, The Respectables return with a brand new album 'The Power of Rock and Roll', produced by none other than the iconic Rolling Stones’ 30 years long member and vocalist Mr. Bernard Fowler.

With influences of blues, rock and country, ‘The Power of Rock and Roll’ also features Keith Richards' Expensive Winos band member Waddy Wachtel on two tracks ('Power of Rock and Roll' and 'That Girl ') while Grammy-Award winning composer and arranger Jeff Bova performs the symphonic and string arrangements on another two additional songs ('Oasis' and 'As Good As Love Gets ').