"White Lightning" Strikes with Release of Vancouver's Folk-Country Artist MARY GARNETT EDWARDS' New Album

Fri Sep 25, 2020

White Lightning has struck with the release of Canadian folk-country rock artist Mary Garnett Edwards’ new album.

Featuring lyrics seasoned by a life lived in the crooks and crannies of human experience, White Lightning lands with a raw intensity forged by the fire of hard times made manageable with wry wit and gratitude. “It offers a depth of practical knowledge from beyond the boundaries of the ordinary,” the singer/songwriter offers.

Watch and listen to “White Lightning” here:

Born in 1957, some of Edwards’ earliest career moments included performing at Vancouver’s Soft Rock Cafe and Kits Hous, as well as recording at Psi Chord, Ocean Sound and Trebas Recording throughout the 70s, and in the rock band Breeze.

Toronto Alt. Pop Singer/Songwriter Jadyn Lamb Calls Out the “Liar” in New Single

Fri Sep 25, 2020

There’s a reason Toronto alt pop singer/songwriter Jadyn Lamb sounds so confident on “Liar,” her eighth, newest and smoothest single yet: she’s become fearless in love.

Bold, self-assured, dauntless, and daring, you could even say.

“I’ve played enough emotional games in relationships,” the Toronto-based vocalist shares. “If I feel like I’m being lied to, no matter who you are, I’ll call you out.”

“And this time, ’Liar’ speaks for me.”

Watch and listen to Jadyn Lamb - Liar (Official Video) here:

The track lands as an effortless fusion of chill pop and contemporary R&B, with a suave beat hitting hot-and-heavy while fragments of Lamb’s calm, calculated vocals swirl into a slick melody. In fact, she’s never sounded stronger, despite admitting she had no control at the time the song was being written.

Toronto R&B Soul Artist TY RICHARD Releases New Single, “Heart Worth Taking”

Fri Sep 25, 2020

Toronto soul-R&B artist Ty Richard questions his compass in his new single, “Heart Worth Taking (feat. Kaya)”.

The song is preview into the Toronto-area artist’s forthcoming 2021 LP, In Time & Grace, and follows previous tour and studio collaborations with Brooklyn dream-pop outfit Cigarettes After Sex and Australian soul duo Breathe.

“This song compares the fading loves of the world with the eternal love of God,” Richard shares. “It discusses the struggle that one faces when choosing between the two."

Watch the inspiring video here on YouTube:

Multi-Award Winning Guitarist & Lead MonkeyJunk-er Tony D Releases NEW Instrumental Compilation, Speak No Evil

Fri Sep 25, 2020

A flurry of instrumentals on a genre-bending journey serve as a career retrospective of epic proportions when it comes to multi-JUNO, Maple Blues and Blues Music Award-winning guitarist Tony D’s new album, Speak No Evil — and newly minted track “70s Big Muff”.

It’s a blues foundation stacked with layers of psychedelic rock, pseudo flamenco with a surf edge, and a thread of jazz throughout the ages wound around it all. Available now, Speak No Evil lands as a 11-track LP mining the archives of the critically acclaimed and internationally accomplished artist’s long-spanning career, including with The Tony D Band and MonkeyJunk.

“This is the only new song on the album,” Tony D says of “70s Big Muff.” “The title is a nod towards the fuzz pedal that was used to create the 70s style of psychedelic rock made by the likes of Jimi Hendrix and Cream. It’s been a big influence on my music from the beginning of my career.

Watch and listen to “70s Big Muff” here:

Ottawa’s Taming Sari Show Their “Loving Way” - Classic x Modern Rock in Latest Single

Fri Sep 25, 2020

Known for strong-arming classic rock and old school blues into a decidedly modern package, Ottawa-area five-piece Taming Sari and their latest rollicking single “Loving Way” continue to stack the stats and deliver their unmistakably signature sound.

Check out “Loving Way” on YouTube here:

With bandmates Warren Meredith, Adam Ouellette, Alex Pellerin-Auprix, Danny Seguin-Brunette, and Miguel Kingsberry-Brunette on deck, Taming Sari has been seen and heard on the likes of Canadian Beats, Rebel 101.7, CKDJ 107.9, 94.9 The Rock, Amherst Island Radio, and more, as well as on radio throughout the UK.

Canadian Alt-Ambient Artists Silk Gaze Up Upon the “Stars” in New Video

Fri Sep 25, 2020

Notably atmospheric, alt-ambient artists Silk have revisited their 2019 standout single, “Stars,” with a new video release.

Check out Silk – “Stars” (taken from the "Dawn" Live Session) on YouTube here:

Initially from their 2019 sophomore release Eclipse, the momentary retrospective is a cause for pause for the Canadian pairing, serving as foreshadowing to their forthcoming release later this year.

Since its earliest inception, the Québec City-based outfit has been comprised of Hubert Gonthier-Blouin and Julien Watine; the duo intertwined talents to create their 2017 release, Hiraeth, 2019 follow-up, Eclipse, and solidifying their performance chops and critical acclaim along the way.

Jazz-Pop Singer-Songwriter Laura Fernandez Takes Time to “Breathe Life” in New Single Release

Fri Sep 25, 2020

Toronto singer/songwriter, pianist, producer, artist, and JazzFM radio producer/host Laura Fernandez is taking the time to “Breathe Life” in this, her new single — available now.

An intense, emotional ode to love, its recurrent line ‘you breathe life into me’ is fervent, and almost prayer-like; Alexander Brown shines with a beautiful, muted trumpet and the overall sense of the song is hushed and jazzy in a minor key.

Watch and listen to “Breathe Life” here:

“Breathe Life” lands ahead of Fernandez’s forthcoming album, ‘Okay, Alright’ — a stunning baker’s dozen of deeply intimate lyrical sojourns available this October 2nd, 2020.

Folk-Pop Duo Kyra and Tully Get a Life-Changing Lay of the Land in Their New Single “Flowers Wild”

Fri Sep 25, 2020

Canadian folk-pop outfit Kyra and Tully ventured out among the “Flowers Wild” for this, their new single.

The song blooms ahead of the duo’s forthcoming and fifth studio album, Time, set for release this November, and its inspiration stems from their unique experience staying at and tending to their friend’s 100 acre bio-dynamic farm.

Watch and listen to ‘Flowers Wild’ here:

“The lyrics for ‘Flowers Wild’ are a collection of ideas and feelings I had captured in a little journal during what was a life-changing experience,” Kyra recalls. “It was at our friend’s farm where we stayed for two weeks over March Break last year, and it was the first time we helped care for their animals: 25 chickens, 12 goats, four cows, four white ducks, a bunch of sheep, a Great Pyrenees and a cat — as well as our own dear dog, a Golden Labrador retriever who has since passed, Sodo.

Folk-Country Rocker JEFF GAY Turns His Gaze to Relationships in New Album, Stargazer

Thu Sep 24, 2020

Canadian Americana folk-country rocker Jeff Gay is looking way up in his new album, Stargazer, including single “XOXO” — featuring multi-award winning singer/songwriter Christina Martin — each available now.

Watch and listen to“XOXO” by Jeff Gay feat. Christina Martin:

Many of tracks on Stargazer wade into the darker depths of romantic relationships, and “XOXO” is no exception. “Honestly? I was thinking about women I’ve known through the years who’ve told me stories about their partners threatening suicide as a way to try and hang onto them,” Gay shares, immediately delving deep into the inspiration behind the song. “As much as I despise this idea, and that kind of man, I really wanted to try and get into the head of a person who would do this.”

Award-Winning Contemporary Jazz Songstress Fiona Ross Releases The Live Sessions Video Album

Thu Sep 24, 2020

Award-winning, internationally acclaimed contemporary jazz artist Fiona Ross unleashes today an electrifying rendition of some of her favourite works across four album releases in The Live Sessions Video Album — including her most recent, Fierce and Non-Compliant.

“I tried to do the whole live session at home, but it really wasn’t me,” the songstress explains. “It also meant I didn’t have my incredible musicians with me.

Watch and listen to Fiona Ross 'The Live Sessions': Don't Say here:

“Part of my sound and what I love about what I do is the incredible people I get to work and play with,” she continues. “I feed off their energy and, well… I just love playing with them!

“Due to COVID-19, all of my gigs were cancelled for the foreseeable future, but as soon as the studio I normally rehearse at re-opened, I jumped to book it.”

Bullrider Releases New Single that Makes You Think “Happy Where I Am”

Thu Sep 24, 2020

Winnipeg rockers BULLRIDER state their status loud and clear in this, their latest single and (literally) head-bobbing video, “Happy Where I Am”.

Not a bad mantra to live by…. Watch and Hear for yourself:

They’ve got a lot going on to back up that claim: Together since 2012, the Winnipeg-based four-piece pooled together some serious talent in Bobby Desjarlais (The Bokononists, Attica Riots), Ben Ferguson (Ash Koley), Tom Sinnott and Chris Peluk (Alverstone, Mad Young Darlings) to bring their complete yet complex palate of sonic sojourns — from fun-loving to dark and heartbroken, haunting to near-psychedelic in its experience— to stages at The Forks Winnipeg, Harvest Moon Festival, Dauphin’s Country Fest, ManyFest, Hoot Owl, and more.

Toronto Rapper M.Y.A. WRITER Releases Debut Two-Version Track, “WORLDISAMESS — Angel / Demon”

Fri Sep 18, 2020

Toronto rapper and songwriter M.Y.A. WRITER continues to observe life through two lenses with the release of his debut double-track: “WORLDISAMESS (ANGEL)” and “WORLDISAMESS (DEMON)”

Check it out here:

Demon:

The multiple versions of the single signify the different paths of life we can take, the Toronto-based artist explains. “The world is a mess, and how we react to it going forward will reveal a lot about us,” he adds. “Feelings like anger, sadness, and heartbreak are valid, but so too is acceptance and making peace with our reality for the sake of progress.

Tucker Lane is Soaring High with New Single ‘Paper Wings’

Fri Sep 18, 2020

Canadian alt-country rockers Tucker Lane are soaring high on “Paper Wings” with this, the release of their newest single.

“This song is about taking a chance on love, even though you might get burned,” the band says of the track’s meaning, begging the question: “Is the fire going to be uplifting? As in a spark? Or will it be devastating, like a house fire?”

Watch and listen to ‘Paper Wings’ by Tucker Lane here:

Featuring Platinum- and Gold-selling The Pursuit of Happiness and Universal Honey alums Leslie Stanwyck and Johnny Sinclair, as well as Brent Carlin and Warren Medernach, the song lands ahead of the award-nominated Americana act’s forthcoming album, available this Fall.

The release follows both Tucker Lane’s debut 2015 offering, West of Minnesota, North of North Dakota, as well as a lengthy separation due to COVID-19.

Alt-Indie Artist Morchella Unearths Human Complexities in Ethereal New Single “Coat of Arms”

Fri Sep 18, 2020

Producer and multi-instrumentalist Morchella has suited up a swirling and lush breakthrough alternative release, “Coat of Arms” and equally stunning and imaginative video.

Check out “Coat of Arms” here:

Seamlessly blending ethereal and enveloping production values with a tender brand of lyricism, the new single is anchored by haunting vocals as it holds space within its ranging soundscape.

Accompanying “Coat of Arms” is a uniquely crafted stop motion video by award-winning director Isabel Garrett.

“I wanted to take the listener on an atmospheric journey,” Morchella says of the new song. “For me, this track is an expression of the complexities of every individual and just how much ‘lies beneath the surface.”

Rapper & Producer Midas Wright Captures Life Best Lived in New Track, “Otherside”

Fri Sep 18, 2020

“If you’re listening to this, there’s only one thing I want you to do: I want you to believe in yourself,” rapper and producer Midas Wright insists in reference to his new single, “Otherside”.

“Be yourself, man. Nobody can do that better than you,” he continues.“You have the power in your hands to be the absolute best you can be, and live your life the way you want to. Nobody can stop you, except you!”

Check out “Otherside” (Explicit)
https://open.spotify.com/album/1mXUhO0DZSrewEW9QJQaZr?highlight=spotify:track:6pAmsa6PqnMSIVSLU3tnf4

Wright’s stunning and enormously inspirational insistence that people make the most of every moment in life comes by him in the most personal way possible; the call to create “Otherside” was drawn from a brush with near-death he experienced eight years ago at the age of 19. “I’m now loving life at the ripe old age of 27,” he smiles. “Don’t pass me any white lighters.”

Icelandic Artist Kahnin Releases Timelier than Ever New Single, “DuckTape"

Fri Sep 18, 2020

With 30,000 streams and rising, Icelandic singer/songwriter Kahnin — Gudmundur Jens Gudmundsson — muses on mistaken identity and answering to authorities in the release of his new single, “DuckTape”.

“‘DuckTape’ is a song that can take on many meanings,” Kahnin shares. “For example, it can easily be associated with all the craziness that is going on in the world today, but mostly, it’s a song about being in the wrong place at the wrong time — kids having fun, sort of thing —  mistaken identity, and being interrogated by the authorities in an unethically harsh manner.

Check out “DuckTape” here:

“The song’s main mechanics started after I had been watching some CIA conspiracy documentary. I imagined how horrible it would be to be mistaken for some counterspy, and if it would ever be possible to get out of a situation like that. 

Singer/Songwriter Greg Rider Second Date Was Almost 'TinderCringe' in New Single, “Accident”

Fri Sep 18, 2020

Canadian country-pop artist Greg Rider’s second date felt just like the first in this, his new single “Accident”.

“This song came to life after a date in Nashville,” Rider recalls. “It started as an innocent online dating match with a Canadian girl, and it turned into a hilarious coincidence… Or ‘Accident.’”

Grab the popcorn, here’s how the story goes: Rider met up with the girl — a fellow songwriter — and soon after grabbing a drink and getting to know one another, she insisted he looked familiar. “She was from Alberta, and I was from Ontario,” he explains. “I was confident I’d never met her before."

“But then she asked, ‘did you ever live in Montreal?’ and my eyes went wide. She said, ‘oh my God, are you Greg from Montreal?! We went on a date and I still talk about that night with my friends!’

“I was in utter shock, and couldn’t believe what she was saying. I felt horrible because I didn’t remember it at all. She had a different hair colour back then, I was 22 and a club promoter, so I met quite a few girls that summer, but… I still felt like a horrible person!”

Blues/Hip Hop Duo DRAE’s Political Prediction Comes True in New Single “Take Cover”

Fri Sep 18, 2020

Funnelling explosive blues-rock riffs into heady alt-hip hop rhythms and immersive electronic arrangements comes award-winning Ottawa, ON duo DRAE’s timely and culturally prescient new single “Take Cover”.

“The revolution won’t be televised”

Watch the video on YouTube here:

“This song was written as a hypothetical view of a world where a government and its systems — particularly law enforcement — have turned on its own citizens,” says frontman and producer Andre Thibault. “Unfortunately we are seeing this become a reality, both with our neighbours south of the border, as well as our own federal police force with minority groups and Indigenous peoples.”

Aimee-Jo Benoit Reinvents the Classics With New LP, Borjoner

Fri Sep 18, 2020

Calgary, AB’s jazz artist Aimee-Jo Benoit continues to celebrate this year’s release of BORJONER, her stunning new 10-track LP with Trio Velocity exploring songs from her personal journey — available now.

“BORJONER was born in a coffee shop,” Benoit recalls of the album’s earliest days. “I was thinking about the process of growth as an artist, a person, and a mother. The idea of burgeoning soil was all I could think about as I was trying to piece together a project that had been 15 years in the making.

“As a Canadian artist with a French background, I searched for a term that represented the idea of growth and BORJONER was found,” she continues. “It’s an old French term for burgeoning, and it couldn’t be more accurate for how I really do feel. It is as though I am clawing through the soil upwards and downwards, and it’s been a symbol for the entire process of how the album came to be, the recording and subsequent re-recording of it, its release during COVID-19, and its life as its rooted its way into the music community.”

54-40’s NEIL OSBOURNE + Daughter KANDLE Have The Folk/Blues As THE FAMILY CURSE

Fri Sep 18, 2020

Driven by bluesman Niz and Baby Kiz — aka 54-40’s Neil Osborne and his daughter, singer/songwriter Kandle — modern day blues duo A Family Curse are out with their new self-titled album.

Check out the entertaining video of “LA Blues”on YouTube here:

Decidedly different from their respective artistic pursuits, Niz and Kiz’ approach to A Family Curse seizes firm hold of whatever emotional range, found sounds, or random instruments are within reach.